WASHINGTON UNIVERSITY

LAW QUARTERLY

Edited by the Undergraduates of Washington University School of Law, St. Louis. Published in December, February, April, and June at Washington University, St. Louis, Mo.

Subscription Price \$2.50 per Annum.
Back numbers, \$1.00.

Single copies, 75 cents.

A subscriber desiring to discontinue his subscription should send notice to that effect. In the absence of such notice, the subscription will be continued.

THE BOARD OF EDITORS

FRED L. KUHLMANN, Editor-in-Chief MORRIS J. GARDEN, Associate Editor

WILLARD B. MYERS, Note Editor. SIGMUND BARACK, Comment Editor.

FACULTY ADVISOR

HARRY WILLMER JONES

STAFF

LACKLAND BLOOM CARROL DONOHUE WILLARD ETHRIDGE AUBREY HAMILTON WALTER HILGENDORF FRANK KENNEDY

JOSEPH KUTTEN GEORGE MUELLER ADOLPH K. SCHWARTZ

BUSINESS STAFF

BERTRAM W. TREMAYNE, Business Manager MARION BENNETT, Circulation Manager EARL FISHGALL, Advertising Manager

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

CHARLES NAGEL

THEODORE RASSIEUR

JAMES A. SEDDON

ADVISORY BOARD

M. L. STEWART, Chairman

R. L. ARONSON J. M. F. P. ASCHMEYER S. EL G. A. BUDER, JR. J. J. J.

R. S. BULL R. W. CHUBB J. M. Douglas S. Elson

J. J. GRAVELY A. M. HOENNY J. M. HOLMES R. B. Snow, Secretary

H. W. KROEGER C. H. LUECKING R. R. NEUHOFF K. P. SPENCER M. R. STAHL

It will, of course, be understood by our readers that the views expressed in any article, note, comment or book review are those of the individual contributor and not those of the Washington University Law Quarterly. It is one of the purposes of this type of publication to afford a forum for the free discussion of legal subjects, and the usefulness of the Quarterly would be considerably impaired by our censorship of the opinions of our contributors.

EDITORIAL NOTES

THE WASHINGTON UNIVERSITY LAW QUARTERLY

The Annual Law Quarterly Banquet was held on May 3. Commissioner Laurance M. Hyde of the Missouri Supreme Court was the principal speaker. The following appointments were made to the Board of Editors for the editorial year 1938-1939: Editor-in-Chief, Frank Robert Kennedy; Associate Editor, Joseph Kutten; Business Manager, Lackland Bloom. Law Quarterly Certificates for meritorious service on the Law Quarterly Staff were presented to Fred L. Kuhlmann, Bertram W. Tremayne, Morris Jack Garden, and Willard B. Myers. Assistant Professor Albert S. Abel received appointment as Faculty Advisor for the ensuing year, succeeding Assistant Professor Harry W. Jones.

The incoming Board of Editors is deeply indebted for the high standard at which the Law Quarterly has been consistently maintained by the staff of the past year. Mr. Kuhlmann as Editor, Mr. Tremayne as Business Manager, and Assistant Professor Jones as Faculty Advisor deserve special mention for outstanding service to the Quarterly.

THE SCHOOL OF LAW

Assistant Professor Harry W. Jones will be on a leave of absence during 1938-1939 to engage in study of Comparative Law and Jurisprudence on a fellowship granted by the Columbia University School of Law. He will write his thesis on the subject of Statutory Interpretation.

Professor Ralph F. Fuchs will return this fall from a year's leave of absence spent at the Columbia University School of Law, which had granted him a special fellowship for the purpose of research and writing in the field of Administrative Law.

Assistant Professor E. S. Stimson, who has been on leave of absence for the past two years at Harvard University Law School engaged in special study in Conflicts of Laws, has recently resigned to accept appointment as dean of the School of Law at the University of Toledo.

Miss Eunice Cox, LL.B., Washington University, 1937, has been appointed Reference Librarian and assumed her duties on June 1.

Assistant Professor Albert S. Abel will teach the course in Administrative Law at the summer session of the University of Iowa College of Law.

PRIZES

At the annual Alumni-Senior Convocation the following Law School prizes were awarded: The Alumni Prize, to the senior student having the highest scholarship average for the three vears. Morris J. Garden: the Mary Hitchcock Thesis Prize, to the senior submitting the best thesis of the year. Morris J. Garden: the Richard Wagner Brown Prize, awarded to the student best exemplifying scholarship, leadership, and character, divided between Fred L. Kuhlmann and Bertram W. Tremayne, Jr.: the Breckinridge Moot Court Prizes, based upon preparation of briefs, mastery of subject matter, and presentation of oral arguments in practice court trials, Bertram W. Tremayne, Jr., and William A. Thie, first prize, and Franklin Ferriss and Gerald K. Presberg, second prize; the Samuel Breckinridge Prizes, awarded to the students having the highest averages in their respective classes, divided between Fred L. Kuhlmann, Morris J. Garden, and Gerald K. Presberg, for the senior class, 1937-1938; Morris J. Garden, first, and Fred L. Kuhlmann. second. for the second year class, 1936-1937; Frank R. Kennedy, first, and Joseph Kutten, second, for the first year class, 1936-1937. The Breckinridge Law Review Editorial Prize was awarded to Frank R. Kennedy, and the Breckinridge Law Review Managerial Prize was awarded to Lackland Bloom for the editorial year 1938-1939. Final honors were awarded to Fred L. Kuhlmann, Morris J. Garden, Thomas E. Blackwell, Karl Holderle, and Gerald K. Presberg.