ST. LOUIS LAW REVIEW

Edited by the Undergraduates of Washington University School of Law, St. Louis. Published in December, February, April, and June at Washington University, St. Louis, Mo.

Subscription Price \$2.00 per Annum.

Seventy-five Cents per Copy.

A subscriber desiring to discontinue his subscription should send notice to that effect. Otherwise it will be continued.

THE STAFF

ABE J. GARLAND, Editor-in-Chief ARTHUR J. BOHN, Associate Editor J. DONALD YOUNG, Business Manager

JAMES ANDING
WILLIAM EDGAR
EUNICE COX
WALTER FREEDMAN
JOHN HALEY

JAMES LOGAN HENRY LUEDDE PHILIP MAXEINER ROBERT YOST

ROBERT LINDSEY

RALPH F. FUCHS, Faculty Adviser ISRAEL TREIMAN, Faculty Adviser

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

WALTER D. COLES

CHARLES NAGEL
THEODORE RASSIEUR

James A. Seddon

ADVISORY COMMITTEE

R. W. CHUBB, Chairman

R. L. ARONSON F. P. ASCHMEYER G. A. BUDER, JR. R. S. BULL J. M. DOUGLAS

S. ELSON

A. M. HOENNY
J. M. HOLMES
H. W. KROEGER
R. H. MCROBERTS
D. L. MILLAR

J. J. GRAVELY

C. H. Luecking, Secretary M. Oppenheimer

R. R. NEUHOFF R. B. SNOW K. P. SPENCER M. R. STAHL M. L. STEWART

Editorial Notes

CONTRIBUTORS TO THIS ISSUE

PHILIP A. MAXEINER, B.S.B.A., Washington University, 1934; J.D., Washington University, 1936, contributes Reservation of Control by a Settlor of a Private Trust As Affected by Federal Tax Legislation.

LEIGHTON SHIELDS, A.B., Harvard University, 1903; LL.B., Washington University, 1905; contributes Procedural Delays in Recent Amendments to Railway Bankruptcy Act. At present Mr. Shields is with the Reconstruction Finance Corporation. He is a member of the St. Louis, Missouri, Bar.

THE SCHOOL OF LAW

On Commencement Day, June 9, 1936, Harry Brookings Wallace, second-Vice-President of the Washington University corporation, announced that an effort is now being made to increase the segregated endowment of the School of Law by the sum of \$1,000,000.00, and that in recent months the sum of \$495.500.00 had been obtained and set aside for this purpose. Before Commencement Day it had been announced that the vacant office of the Dean would be occupied after July 1, 1936, by Joseph Adolphus McClain, Jr., A.B., LL.B., J.S.D., now Dean of the University of Louisville School of Law. Dean McClain is a native of Georgia, where he received his early academic and professional education and where he practiced law for two years. After that he went to Yale where he received his graduate degree in jurisprudence in 1929, and since that time has been engaged in the work of legal education.

After Commencement, Chancellor George R. Throop announced the appointment of two additional members of the faculty, namely, Warner Fuller, B.S., LL.B., and Oscar Orman, B.S., LL.B. Mr. Fuller will be professor of law, specializing in subjects relating to business organizations, Agency, Partnership, Corporations, Massachusetts Trusts, etc. He is a native of Oregon, where he received his academic education. His legal education was obtained at Yale. Practical experience of four years as a member of the San Francisco bar was followed by four years of teaching in the faculty of Duke University School of Law. In May he resigned his position at Duke in order to accept the new position in our faculty.

Mr. Oscar Orman is a native of the state of Washington, where he received his academic and legal education, and also special training in library administration. He was formerly law librarian at the University of Washington and more recently has been assistant librarian at the University of Chicago. In our School he will occupy the position of librarian and will direct the expenditure of an increased budgetary allowance for the purchase of books and other library material. Mrs. Sarah R. B. Cole will remain on the staff as assistant librarian.

Assistant Professor Edward S. Stimson has been granted a leave of absence for one year in order to accept a research fellowship at the Harvard Law School. He will return to Washing-

ton University in the year 1937-8.

Mr. Harry W. Jones, instructor in law and student consultant during the past year, will remain a member of the faculty of the school as instructor in law and faculty director of the St. Louis Law Review.

Tyrrell Williams, Acting Dean during the past year, will re-

sume his duties as professor of law and Madill professor of Contracts.

Miss Henrietta Hough, secretary to the dean, will be promoted to the new position of registrar of the School of Law.

PRIZES

At the Alumni-Senior Convocation the following Law School Prizes were announced: The Alumni Prize, to the senior student having the highest scholarship average for the three years. Abraham J. Garland; the Hitchcock Thesis Prize, to the senior submitting the best thesis on a subject approved by the Faculty. Leslie Fisher; the Richard Wagner Brown Prize, awarded to the student best exemplifying scholarship, leadership and character. Abraham J. Garland; the Breckinridge Moot Court Prize, awarded to the students submitting the best "Practice Court" briefs, Charles M. Wright and William Keady, first prize, and James Logan and Robert Yost, second prize. The Samuel Breckinridge Prizes, awarded to the students in the first, second, and third year classes having the highest and second highest averages in their respective classes, Charles M. Wright, first, and Robert Yost, second, for the senior class 1935-1936; Charles M. Wright, first, and Abraham J. Garland, second, for the mid-year class 1934-1935; Walter Freedman, first, and James L. Anding. John L. Freeze and Otis Garland, second, for the first year class 1934-1935. Final honors were awarded to Abraham J. Garland, William Keady, Charles M. Wright, and Robert Yost,

At a special meeting of the Faculty on June 17, 1936, two law review prizes, to be charged against the Breckinridge Prize Fund, were created for each one of the three scholastic years ending June 30, 1936, June 30, 1937, and June 30, 1938. One annual prize, to be known as the Breckinridge Law Review Editorial Prize, will be in the sum of \$75.00, and the other annual prize, to be known as the Breckinridge Law Review Managerial Prize, will be in the sum of \$50.00. These annual prizes are to be

awarded to members of the Second Year class.

The Editorial Prize for the year ending June 30, 1936, was awarded to Walter Freedman, and the Managerial Prize for the year ending June 30, 1936, was awarded to William Randolph Edgar.