## WASHINGTON UNIVERSITY

# QUARTERLY

Edited by the Undergraduates of Washington University School of Law, St. Louis. Published in December, February, April, and June at Washington University, St. Louis, Mo.

Subscription Price \$2.50 per Annum.

Single copies, 75 cents.

Back numbers, \$1.00.

A subscriber desiring to discontinue his subscription should send notice to that effect. In the absence of such notice, the subscription will be continued.

## THE BOARD OF EDITORS

EDWIN M. SCHAEFER, JR., Editor-in-Chief JULIUS M. FRIEDRICH, Associate Editor AARON E. HOTCHNER, Comment Editor MILTON H. ARONSON, Note Editor STERLING F. TREMAYNE, Business Manager

#### STAFF

THEODORE BARON LEONARD BUKSTEIN ANDREW GUNTER VALETA KERN

WILLIAM KIRBY SAMUEL MARCUS William Newman

WILLIAM PETTUS STANLEY SCHUCHAT JEAN THYSON WAYNE WRIGHT

## FACULTY COMMITTEE

A faculty committee is assisting in the editing of the twenty-fifth anniversary volume.

## ADVISORY BOARD

S. ELSON, Chairman

R. L. Aronson

F. P. ASCHMEYER

G. A. BUDER, JR.

R. S. Bull

R. W. CHUBB

J. M. Douglas

W. FREEDMAN A. GARLAND

J. J. GRAVELY

J. GROSS

A. M. HOENNY

H. W. JONES F. R. KENNEDY F. L. KUHLMANN

T. LEWIN

A. E. MARGOLIN F. E. MATHEWS

N. PARKER, Secretary

D. L. MILLAR

R. R. NEUHOFF

C. B. PEPER

G. W. SIMPKINS

R. B. Snow

K. P. SPENCER M. L. STEWART

E. Susman

## **EDITORIAL NOTES**

## THE WASHINGTON UNIVERSITY LAW QUARTERLY

The Annual Law Quarterly Banquet was held on May 2. Judge John J. Wolfe of the Circuit Court of St. Louis County was the principal speaker. The following were appointed to the Board of Editors for the editorial year 1940-1941: Editor-in-Chief,

Theodore Baron; Associate Editor, Wayne B. Wright; Note Editor, William G. Pettus, Jr.; Comment Editor, Andrew C. Gunter; Business Manager, Wilburn A. Duncan. Certificates for meritorious service on the Law Quarterly Staff were presented to Edwin M. Schaefer, Jr., Julius M. Friedrich, Milton H. Aronson, Aaron E. Hotchner, and Sterling F. Tremayne. Law Quarterly Keys were awarded to the following members of the Staff in recognition of their contributions to the student section of the Quarterly: Edwin M. Schaefer, Jr., Julius M. Friedrich, Milton H. Aronson, Aaron E. Hotchner, Theodore Baron, Wayne B. Wright, and William G. Pettus, Jr.

The incoming Board of Editors is deeply indebted to the Staff and Faculty Committee of the past year for their assistance in planning the work of the Law Quarterly for the year 1940-1941.

## THE SCHOOL OF LAW

Mr. Arno C. Becht of the University of Georgia School of Law has been appointed Assistant Professor of Law at Washington University. Mr. Becht received his B.A. from Colgate University, his J.D. from the University of Chicago, and his LL.M. from Columbia University. Before becoming a member of the faculty of the University of Georgia, Mr. Becht was associated with the firm of Miller, Owen, Otis & Bailly, of New York City.

Assistant Professor F. Reed Dickerson has accepted an appointment to the faculty of the University of Pittsburgh School of Law.

### Alumni Loan Fund

The law class of 1900, which held its 40th reunion at the annual meeting and banquet of the Washington University Law Alumni Association on June 7, established a fund to be known as the "Law Alumni Loan Fund." The money raised at this meeting has been turned over to the Law Alumni Association for the purpose of lending that money, and any other sums which may be added to it, to deserving law students on a long-term repayment plan. Other contributions have already been made to this Loan Fund and, needless to say, further contributions will be welcome.

## **PRIZES**

At the Annual Alumni-Senior Convocation the following Law School prizes were awarded: The Alumni Prize, to the senior student having the highest scholarship average for the three years. Sterling F. Tremayne: the Mary Hitchcock Thesis Prize, to the senior submitting the best thesis of the year. Albert E. Schoenbeck: the Richard Wagner Brown Prize, to the student best exemplifying scholarship, leadership, and character, Julius M. Friedrich. The Breckinridge Moot Court Prizes, based upon preparation of briefs, mastery of subject matter, and presentation of oral arguments in practice court trials, were awarded to William Newman III and Thomas K. Taylor, first; Julius M. Friedrich and Sterling F. Tremayne, second. The Nathan Burkan Memorial Competition Prize, to the senior submitting the best thesis on copyright law, was awarded to Milton H. Aronson. The Samuel Breckinridge Prizes, awarded to the students having the highest averages in their respective classes: for the senior class, 1939-1940, Sterling F. Tremayne, first: Julius M. Friedrich, second; for the second year class, 1938-1939. Edwin M. Schaefer, first; Sterling F. Tremayne, second; for the first year class, 1938-1939, Theodore Baron, first: Jean J. Thyson, second. For the editorial year 1940-1941, the Breckinridge Law Review Editorial Prize was awarded to Theodore Baron. and the Breckinridge Law Review Managerial Prize was awarded to Wilburn A. Duncan. Final honors were awarded to Julius M. Friedrich, Edwin M. Schaefer, Jr., G. Penfield Strelinger, Jr., Sterling F. Tremayne.